13 October 2022

Julienne is YMCA Volunteer of the Year

Fleurieu YMCA volunteer, Julienne Huppatz, has had her dedication to the local community acknowledged after being presented as YMCA South Australia’s Volunteer of the Year at the organisation’s annual awards evening at The Playford on Saturday 1 October.

Awards were presented across 10 separate categories, showcasing and celebrating YMCA South Australia’s best for innovation, creativity and excellence.

Julienne’s award was among the highlights of the night. Her nomination was supported by staff and management from Fleurieu Aquatic Centre and also Goolwa Resthaven, where she assisted the transition of the community connect program.

Julienne’s expertise is in group fitness and said that she had no hesitation when deciding where to volunteer her time after her semi-retirement due to the Covid event.

“I chose the YMCA because I have had such a wonderful time there as a casual employee. What better place to do my volunteering than where I loved to work anyway,” she said. “It’s a great place to come and everyone is so positive.”

Other highlights included The Valleys Lifestyle Centre’s Sonia Goss taking out the Community Partnerships award for the Ride for a Brighter Side fundraising event, and acknowledgment of the extraordinary work put in by the Support Services Finance Team, earning them the Jack Massey Team of the Year award.

The growth in the Children’s Services sector was endorsed with four awards. Southern Regional OSHC Manager, Tabitha Norris won the prestigious George Williams Employee of the Year, while Youth Empowerment Manager, Susan Britza, was announced as the Emerging Leader of the Year. Madeline Stansbie from Riverbanks College B-12 ELC took the Engaging Future Minds award, while the Mentorship Leadership Program was awarded for Excellence in Innovation.

Other award recipients included: Toni Hayles (Glengowrie Gymnastics) – Excellence in Operational Management, Tara Krenske (St Clair Recreation Centre) - Outstanding Contribution by a Young Employee and The Wellbeing Committee – Program of the Year.